lookiout.blogg.se

Mirrorsync forum
Mirrorsync forum






mirrorsync forum
  1. #Mirrorsync forum android
  2. #Mirrorsync forum Pc
  3. #Mirrorsync forum download

But the rest of it doesn’t really work that much different than Google. And especially the PhotosSync, Photo Backup, Photo Upload or whatever you want to call it has its pitfalls and downsides. Why can’t this be like their cloud setup with any deletions followed up in the cloud? So currently nextcloud to them is yet another synced photo dumping ground which doesn’t delete anything unless the users go through the extra effort of removing a photo twice: in their usual gallery app (which is the de facto standard for photo management on most phones) and second time on nextcloud. The mention of WebDAV and another client doesn’t put me off but will put off uninformed users. The solution I go for has to be simple enough to set up and use like nextcloud client which acts as a one stop alternative to the invasive cloud services. And that is mostly what ppl I know use ggl cloud for, which sadly doesn’t honour their directory arrangements, unlike nextcloud. They are fine with deleting a copy both on the phone and at sync time on the remote server. Now the confusion why users refer to such mode as backup is simple: they expect it to cover scenarios such as physically losing or breaking a phone and having a one last good data copy. But if it is dumb copy all files remotely in the camera folder but never compare if anything remotely hasn’t been deleted then it contributes to a remotely stored mess. One way mirrored sync provides this mechanism. But their use of ggl photos was such that anything deleted on the phone got deleted off the cloud. They had a few complaints about their cloud storage like google photos flattening out their directory structure which isn’t the case with nextcloud. In explaining where it came from: I was hoping on migrating non-technical users to a nextcloud stored copy of their photos from the cloud environment.

#Mirrorsync forum android

But thanks to the Android storage scope FUSE integration of the Nextcloud app, Aegis can store it’s backup directly to my Nextcloud, without even be aware that it stores the data to a remote folder. One example, I’m using, is Aegis (TOTP app), from which I want to store the backup of the 2FA codes to my Nextloud. Sure there are also a few things and apps that cannot interact directly with Nextcloud or WebDAV. Or maybe you get to know the advantages of Nextcloud beeing the “golden copy” over time, and then won’t need one-way-sync at all anymore.Īnyways, my golden copy is my Nextcloud server, and therefore I can loose any of my client devices or re-install them at any time and then simply connect them to my Nextcloud server again, in order to get to my files, contacts, calendars etc… And once that’s up and running, you won’t probably need a solution in the official app anymore.

mirrorsync forum

In the short and medium term you will have to find another solution, anyways. I only fear one that covers phone to nextcloud server one way mirror will end in the same veinīut then, you have at least tried. Being able to force a one-way sync would, AIUI, avoid this and enable just the local copies to be deleted.Īs for github, Just saying there is a similar request with the ability to specify which side is the golden copy. It’s a bit of a faff on a small domestic system. Copy the duplicated files from /Cloud/NextCloud/… to /Cloud/tmp/….Professionally the HSM systems I’ve managed allow files to be flushed off the disks to tape, this is the sort of functionality that virtual files appear to offer.Ĭurrently my workflow to manage large files is: What is needed is some way to delete the local copy without sync deleting the cloud copy.

#Mirrorsync forum Pc

If the photos are loaded onto a PC or laptop then there is a local copy as well as the cloud copy. This is perfect, it takes up no local storage except when the file is being used.

#Mirrorsync forum download

If I download photos from my camera directly to the cloud (and subsequently scan them) the files appear as virtual files on my wife’s laptop and my sons’ PCs. My server is based on RAID-5 and is backed up daily. I’m retired and now only run a small family system.








Mirrorsync forum